Salt Lake City DUI/DWI Attorneys Who Know the System
A law firm that knows DUI/DWI charges follow you
Getting charged with driving under the influence (DUI)/driving while intoxicated (DWI) can affect your daily life, from your relationships to your job to your ability to hold certain positions in the future. If you are facing DUI/DWI charges, you need an attorney with experience in all areas of DUI/DWI. The experienced team at Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford can keep a DUI charge or arrest from changing your life.
The DUI process
The Administrative Hearing
The first thing you need to do when charged with a DUI is request a Drivers License Hearing within ten days of the arrest/citation. The Drivers License Division will schedule a hearing within thirty days that will determine if you have your license suspended. The following is a list of suspensions:
- 1st DUI = 120 days suspension
- 2nd DUI = a 24 month suspension
- 1st refusal = an 18 month suspension
- 2nd refusal or 1st refusal with a prior DUI conviction = 36 months suspension
Having our experienced attorneys that are familiar with the administrative process gives you a chance of avoiding the long driver’s license suspensions.
A DUI is a Class B Misdemeanor. The legal blood/alcohol content limit in Utah is .08. Convictions for DUI are as follows:
- 1st Offense in 10 years is a Class B Misdemeanor, 0-180 days in jail with a minimum of 2 days jail or 48 hours of community service, an $850 fine and fee with a minimum fine and fee of $1,295; mandatory counseling, ignition interlock device and probation for up to 18 months.
- 2nd Offense in 10 years is a Class B Misdemeanor, 0-180 days in jail with a minimum mandatory of 10 days in jail or 240 hours of community service; $1,850 fine and fee with a minimum fine and fee of $1,480; mandatory counseling, ignition interlock device and probation for up to 18 months.
- 3rd or subsequent offense in 10 years is a 3rd Degree Felony, 0 to 5 years in prison with a minimum of 62.5 days in jail, $9,250 in fines and fees; residential treatment and probation up to 36 months.
As you can see with the harsh penalties of a DUI, an experienced attorney is essential. Let our experienced attorneys at Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford represent you through the entire process of the DUI to ensure that you minimize or even eliminate the harsh DUI penalties in Utah.
Types of DUI
There are a few different types of DUI that you can be charged with depending on the circumstances of your case. Our experienced DUI defense attorneys can help you bring your charges down to a lesser offense.
- Underage drinking — Underage individuals are held to different standards at the time of arrest.
- Class B misdemeanor — A first or second DUI offense is charged as a class B misdemeanor if no other aggravating factors are present.
- Class A misdemeanor — Your first or second DUI offense may be elevated if you injured someone or had a minor in the car at the time.
- Third-degree felony — A third DUI in 10 years is charged as a third degree felony.
It is important to obtain representation from an experienced criminal defense law firm within 10 days of your arrest. Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford can give you an advantage at your court appearance and hearing.
Contact Salt Lake City DUI/DWI attorneys who know the Utah DUI system
We seek to get your charges reduced to minimize the effect of an arrest on your daily life. Remember you have only 10 days to request a hearing after a DUI arrest. Call 801-747-0647 today or contact us online for a consultation.