Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Lawyers Defend Gun Rights Throughout Utah
Weapons violations attorneys work for your gun rights
In Utah, not only can you be charged with a weapons violation, but there are also certain charges, which can affect your ability to own a weapon in Utah.If you are a gun owner and are charged with a weapons crime or a crime that could affect your gun rights it is imperative to have an attorney that understands your rights and the consequences of any charges effect on your Second Amendment rights.
Weapons Violations in Utah
- Restrictions on possession, purchase, transfer, and ownership of dangerous weapons by certain persons, Utah Code 76-10-503
- Carrying a concealed, dangerous weapon, Utah Code 76-10-504
- Carrying a loaded firearm in vehicle or on street, Utah Code 76-10-505
- Possession of a dangerous weapon, firearm or sawed off shotgun on or about school premises, Utah Code 76-10-505.5
- Threatening with or using dangerous weapon to fight a quarrel, Utah Code 76-10-506
- Possession of a deadly weapon with intent to assault, Utah Code 76-10-507
- Discharge of firearm from vehicle near highway or in the direction of any person, building or vehicle, Utah Code 76-10-508
- Felony discharge of a firearm, Utah Code 76-10-508.1
- Possession of a dangerous weapon by minor, Utah Code 76-10-509
At Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford, we have the experience to handle weapons charges to get you the very best outcome. If you have been charged with a weapons violation you will want to talk to one of our experienced gun charge defense attorneys who can advise you on your options.
Crimes that can affect gun ownership
- Convictions for Domestic Violence
- Convicted Felons
- Dishonorable Discharge from the Military
- Protective Orders
- Stalking Injunctions
- Mental Illness or Mental Incapacity
Many people charged with crimes do not understand the collateral effects that a conviction has on gun ownership. If you have been charged with a weapons violation or any criminal charge that you believe may affect your gun rights, call Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford today.
Penalties for weapons violations
Some gun and weapons charges in Utah carry state minimums. Fines and jail time may increase depending on the minimum penalty, aggravating factors and any previous convictions. An experienced criminal defense law firm can seek to get your penalty lowered for:
- Class B misdemeanors— These offenses can incur of up to six months jail time and/or fines of not more than $1,000.
- Class A misdemeanors— This degree of offense can result in jail time of not more than one year and/or fines not exceeding $2,500.
- Third-degree felonies— This type of felony can result in up to five years’ imprisonment and/or fines not in excess of $5,000.
- Second-degree felonies— A conviction for this type of felony can lead to imprisonment of up to 15 years and/or fines of up to $10,000.
Call a Salt Lake City gun rights attorney to defend your rights
When your Second Amendment rights are under attack, an experienced gun rights attorney can make a huge difference in your case. Call Smart, Schofield, Shorter & Lunceford at 801-747-0647 today or contact us online. We offer a free consultation about your case.